Krista S. Walton, Ph.D.

Professor and Marvin R. McClatchey and Ruth McClatchey Cline Faculty Fellow

Building: Ford ES&T
Office: 2220
Phone: 404.894.5254 
krista.walton [at] (email)
Curriculum Vitae

Mailing Address

Georgia Institute of Technology
School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
311 Ferst Drive, N.W.
Atlanta, GA 30332-0100


B.S.E, 2000, Chemical Engineering, University of Alabama-Hunstville
Ph.D, 2005, Chemical Engineering, Vanderbilt University
ACS PRF Postdoctoral Fellow, 2005-2006, Northwestern University


University of Alabama in Huntsville Alumni of Achievement Award, 2015
Georgia Tech College of Engineering Georgia Power Professor of Excellence, 2015
Women Chemists Committee of the American Chemical Society Rising Star Award, 2014
IAS Award for Excellence in Publications by a Young Member of the Society, 2013
National Science Foundation CAREER Award, 2009
Sigma Xi Scientific Research Society Junior Scientist Award, 2009
Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (DoD), 2007
Army Research Office Young Investigator Award, 2007
ACS PRF Alternative Energy Postdoctoral Fellowship, 2005
AIChE Separations Division Graduate Research Award, 2005
IBM Graduate Fellowship, 2000-2004
Alabama Cooperative Education Student of the Year, 1999
Society of Women Engineers Student Engineer of the Year, 1999


Krista Walton was born in Florence, Alabama, and grew up in nearby Elgin. She received a BSE degree from the University of Alabama-Huntsville and PhD from Vanderbilt University, both in chemical engineering. While at UAH, Dr. Walton worked as a process engineer at Solutia, Inc., in Decatur, AL, for 2 years as part of the cooperative education program. She completed her graduate work under the direction of Prof. M. Douglas LeVan and worked with Prof. Randall Snurr during her postdoctoral studies. Dr. Walton was the Tim and Sharon Taylor Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering at Kansas State University from 2006-2009 and then joined the faculty of the Georgia Institute of Technology in the School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering in August 2009. She serves as Director in the AIChE Separations Division and Secretary/Treasurer of the International Adsorption Society.